lailaloveslettuce

The best laid plans

In Just Add Passport on May 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm

I read in a magazine recently that people are happier and more relaxed anticipating a vacation than actually taking one. The one exception is for tropical island vacations–in that case, increased happiness is supposed to last for up to eight weeks following the trip.

I suppose this is because so many people (particularly Americans, on whom I assume this study was focused) feel a need to get the most out of every trip, not to waste one second with a lazy few extra minutes in bed. Inevitably, at the end of the trip, there will be the moments of regret: how could I have missed this? Why didn’t I make time for that? I know this well. So often the need to maximize every moment of a vacation, fearing that another one may never come, overtakes the relaxation and sheer bliss that should come from being away, being somewhere new. Not that there aren’t those blissful moments too–it’s not as if my trips (and those of my soulmates in industriousness) are all gloom and doom. It’s merely that the need to savor every moment can quickly take on a life of its own and become an unwieldy tour guide, waving the yellow umbrella, shouting to keep moving, keep moving, there’ s more to see.

I’ve got two-and-a-half weeks in Fiji coming up and I’m doing my best to keep my inner tour guide at bay. I’ve done my research, I’ve mapped our island hopping plan and now I just want to be and imagine the moment when I wake up to the sound of the ocean and go back to sleep, because it’s vacation and because I can.

Leave a Reply

